Saturday, August 21, 2010

Count 'Em! 1 2 3 4 5

So, do you know the Five Pillars of Islam? Have any idea what they are? I mean, they ain’t the support of some sort of religions building.

Nope. “The Five Pillars of Islam are the five obligations that every Muslim must satisfy in order to live a good and responsible life according to Islam...Carrying out the Five Pillars demonstrates that the Muslim is putting their faith first, and not just trying to fit it inaround their secular lives.”*

They are (and I quote because I do not know Arabic):

  1. Shahadah or the act of “sincerely reciting the Muslim profession of faith;”*
  2. Salat or “performing ritual prayers in the proper way five times each day;”*
  3. Zakat or “paying an alms (or charity) tax to benefit the poor and the needy;”*
  4. Sawm or “fasting during the month of Ramadan;”* 
  5. and, Hajj or a “pilgrimage to Mecca.”*

So, now you know - the Five Pillars of Islam.

*BBC - Religion:Islam [link]
*The Religion of Islam (MSNU) [link]